1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Web programming languages/tools

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by GoPhins!, Apr 12, 2008.

1. GoPhins!

GoPhins! Premium Member Luxury Box

Nov 29, 2007
    Winter Garden, FL
    Hi. I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this but here it goes anyway. :)

I'm thinking about writing a few programs to put on a web site. Things like a photo album, a few online databases for various things, a survey type application and some things like that. It's nothing very specific right now and it is just for my own use/learning/enjoyment. What I would like to know is what programming tools/languages/database are in popular use now. What would be worth my time learning.

I have been a programmer on various platforms and languages for 25 or more years now. But I have never worked with the web very much. I know dozens of languages and don't really favor one over the other. Different languages have different uses on different platforms and so far the language has mainly been decided by my employer at the time. And truthfully programming logic is programming logic its just a matter of what the syntax is for the language that you are using. But, If I am going to learn something new I would like to make it the popular and useful tools.

Any help and/or advice would be appreciated.

2. unluckyluciano

unluckyluciano For My Hero JetsSuck

Dec 7, 2007
    php, there is also an interface available for it and mysql. Both free.
    It is similar to perl so if you have had experience with perl....

GoPhins! likes this.
  3. GoPhins!

Nov 29, 2007
    Winter Garden, FL
    Also, can anyone recommend a good host for me to use to play with the suggestions that I get here.

4. ChrisKo

ChrisKo Season Ticket Holder

Nov 28, 2007
    Desert
    PHP + MySQL
    Ruby on Rails + MySQL
    C# (ASP.NET) + SQLExpress
    VB.NET (ASP.NET) + SQLExpress