1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Grammar (Punctuation) Question

Discussion in 'Questions and Answers' started by 2k5, Feb 4, 2009.

1. 2k5

2k5 I miss Ted Ginn Jr.

Nov 28, 2007
    Milwaukee, WI
    I'm working on a paper, and I just wanted to know if this is correct grammar.

The first thing that caught my attention was a question in the opening paragraph of the preface: “…how did one of the poorest teams in baseball, the Oakland Athletics, win so many games?”

Is the use of the colon correct, and do I include the "..." before the quote since there is more text before the part that I quoted or not?

TIA :up:

2. anlgp

anlgp ↑ ↑ ↓ ↓ ← → ← → B A

I'm not an expert but I would remove the "...".

I would also rewrite the sentence so it reads "How did the Oakland Athletics (one of the poorest teams in baseball) win so many games?"

But that might just be me.

2k5 likes this.
  3. Alex44

Alex44 Boshosaurus Rex

Jan 7, 2008
    Hollywood, Florida
    If you're one for big words maybe try:

So how did a financially downtrodden team like the Oakland Atheltics win so many games?

:lol: Honestly what you have written looks fine to me.

2k5 likes this.
  4. Vendigo

Vendigo German Gigolo Club Member

Nov 30, 2007

Let me put it like this: Many schools/colleges/universities have their own style guidelines on how to handle quotations but under the standardized MLA style your quotation is perfectly fine. And yes, you do include the "..." if you don't want to tamper with the original quote; something picky instructors (like, say, me) hate with a vengeance :up:

unluckyluciano and 2k5 like this.
  5. peastri

peastri iD'Artiste Luxury Box

Mar 25, 2008
    Sydney, Australia
    If it's a direct quote you can't reword it. The "..." is correct if there is text preceding.

2k5 likes this.
  6. 2k5

2k5 I miss Ted Ginn Jr.

Nov 28, 2007
    Milwaukee, WI