1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Faith and Reason

Discussion in 'Religion and Spirituality' started by emeraldfin, Jan 12, 2010.

Tags:
  1. emeraldfin

emeraldfin All I've got is insane

Dec 12, 2007
    Carlow, Ireland
    Over the past couple of years I have become very sceptical of religious faith and in particular those that subscribe to a higher being or place, be it poly or mono theistic faiths. This I feel is mainly due to the fact that for the past three years I have been studying such disciplines as Chritian Theology, World Religions, Philosophy and Early Christian History. What I have concluded from this is that the more I studied and developed a reasoned opinion on certain faiths, the more I began to doubt their doctrine. So basically, because my reason of a certain faith (ie Christianity) developed, the more I began to doubt its validity.

So what I would like to know is whether this has happend to anyone else or how do reasoned people still have belief in their faith, even if they do not agree with certain aspects of it?

I dont post on this board that often, but I do know that its a good place when asking questions of this nature.

2. padre31

padre31 Premium Member Luxury Box

Nov 22, 2007
    inching to 100k posts
    Is this more along the lines of disbelief in doctrines or in Deity emeraldfin?

For myself, when I looked into the foundational period of Christianity it became apparent that something caused Faith to be established in early Christians, but I myself did not find the various doctrines to be compelling at all.

As for reason imvho the more reason is applied, the more likely Deity exists as reason can never explain the wildly variable outcomes of any given situation.

emeraldfin likes this.
  3. emeraldfin

Dec 12, 2007
    Carlow, Ireland
    A bit of both padre, IMO once you start to go against doctrine you start to question the bigger picture also IMO.