1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ask David Davenport.

Discussion in 'Miami Dolphins Forum' started by Davenport, Aug 13, 2009.

1. Davenport

Davenport New Member

Aug 13, 2009
    Blacksburg, VA
    So you know those childhood dreams we all have of playing in the NFL? I'm the one guy that's mad crazy enough to give it a try-- sort of. I'm currently still in school, but instead of filling my days with accounting and sociology, my focus is (and has for a while) 100 percent about working in the NFL. No, I'm not going to be a player, but I have every intention of testing my luck as a scout, with the goal of one day becoming a General Manager and having my own team (one can dream).

A little bit about myself. I'm currently studying for a degree in Genetics and Physiology. I thought about management for a while, but having the knowledge of how the body works and develops is a tremendous advantage when evaluating players and their potential to translate into professional athletes. Outside of player evaluation, I have a tremendous grasp of almost every scheme in place not only in the NFL, but throughout the NCAA as well. I have copies of dozens of playbooks (offensive and defensive) that are both currently in place today, and some that have been thrown away years ago. I've had private meetings with many active and retired coaches including Cam Cameron, Frank Beamer, Dan Reeves, Jim Mora Jr., Howard Schnellenberger, Bud Foster, and Jim Bates. In a given week, I will spend no less than 30-40 hours studying some aspect of the game. Whether I'm watching film of certain players, learning how to defend the spread, or brushing up on modern pass rushing techniques-- I'm always learning.