1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2013 Masters, should Tiger be Disqualified?

Discussion in 'Other Sports Forum' started by Paul 13, Apr 13, 2013.

  1. Stringer Bell

    Stringer Bell Post Hard, Post Often Club Member

    43,947
    21,523
    113
    Mar 22, 2008
    No, it certainly wasn't clear. When he asked, the rules officials said it went INSIDE the red stake. If he clearly violated the rules then his partner never would have signed his card.
     
  2. Firesole

    Firesole Season Ticket Holder

    4,636
    1,664
    113
    Mar 24, 2008
    They agree (along with his partner's caddy) on where the ball crossed the hazard. But basically Tiger asks him" if this is where it crossed" while pointing. But typically yes you do as a player determine where to drop your ball on your own judgement, unless an official is nearby to help you.

    By the way this is the 3rd controversial hazard drop for Tiger this year. He was penalized the other 2 times.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. smahtaz

    smahtaz Pimpin Ain't Easy

    Woods was penalized for what he said after the round. Not what he did on the course. That's why they couldn't DQ him. They reviewed the video prior to him signing his card and determined his ball was a reasonable distance from the original shot. I think everything after that is irrelevant.
     
  4. Firesole

    Firesole Season Ticket Holder

    4,636
    1,664
    113
    Mar 24, 2008
    No official said no such thing. There wasn't even an official nearby. Woods has even stated that. In fact he said he did not ask an official for a ruling since they weren't there to see it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. Stringer Bell

    Stringer Bell Post Hard, Post Often Club Member

    43,947
    21,523
    113
    Mar 22, 2008
    Wittenberg and the other two caddies are the officials in this case
     
  6. Firesole

    Firesole Season Ticket Holder

    4,636
    1,664
    113
    Mar 24, 2008
    You're talking about a different drop, different round, different tournament. But you're still wrong. He didn't get penalized for what he said. He got penalized for what he did. (By the way I didn't think he took a bad drop at the Masters). I didn't say anything about a DQ, because that is not the rule for playing a shot from the wrong location.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. Stringer Bell

    Stringer Bell Post Hard, Post Often Club Member

    43,947
    21,523
    113
    Mar 22, 2008
    Tiger did not see his shot. He couldn't make a determination.
     
  8. Firesole

    Firesole Season Ticket Holder

    4,636
    1,664
    113
    Mar 24, 2008
    By the way Wittenberg is a tour rookie. And as far as I know the only person who signs a scorecard is the golfer, not his playing partner.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Firesole

    Firesole Season Ticket Holder

    4,636
    1,664
    113
    Mar 24, 2008
    C'mon man, really? You honestly think Tiger didn't see his own shot? If the shot was that bad, and DID hook to the left that fast and was unseeable (is that a word?), that means there is no way that the ball crossed the hazard where he played his next shot from


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. Stringer Bell

    Stringer Bell Post Hard, Post Often Club Member

    43,947
    21,523
    113
    Mar 22, 2008
    Who cares if he's a rookie? Tiger looked away after his shot. He didn't see where the ball landed. He asked his partner, his partner said:
     
    Nappy Roots likes this.
  11. Stringer Bell

    Stringer Bell Post Hard, Post Often Club Member

    43,947
    21,523
    113
    Mar 22, 2008
    Yes, he clearly looks away after his swing.
     
  12. Nappy Roots

    Nappy Roots Well-Known Member

    10,193
    4,187
    113
    Dec 3, 2007
    Bradenton,FL
    aaaaand end discussion.
     
  13. Firesole

    Firesole Season Ticket Holder

    4,636
    1,664
    113
    Mar 24, 2008
    He clearly looks away about 3 seconds after the swing, when he knew his ball was going to be wet. It had already crossed the hazard when he looked away.

    I only brought up the fact about Wittenberg being a rookie because there is speculation out there that possibly he could have felt intimidated by playing with Tiger, and would have agreed to anything. I didn't say I agree with it, but some are saying that.

    Again I am a Tiger fan, but I believe he was way off when it comes to this drop. I'll still root for him every week, and I hope he breaks Jack's major record.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page