1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Combine Viewing Guide by Tony Villiotti

Discussion in 'NFL Draft Forum' started by TooGoodForDez, Feb 19, 2014.

1. TooGoodForDez

TooGoodForDez Deion Sanders for GM

Feb 26, 2013
  2. ckparrothead

ckparrothead Draft Forum Moderator Luxury Box

Dec 1, 2007
    I really like his focus on the "Flying 20".

It's something I have been running and comparing for many years.

The downside to his focus on the 10 yard split is what I keep talking about...it's the MOST sensitive measurement in terms of pure measurement error.

When it comes to a 40 time, I often find that measurement error can account for between 0.08 seconds to 0.10 seconds difference in either direction. The problem with the 10 yard split is that most of that error comes at the FRONT end of the run, not the splits or the back end. The splits and back end are laser-timed. The front of the run is subject to a thumb and subject to inconsistent start methodologies by the players.

Look at the 40 yard dashes in his table. The top 10% versus the top 50% for all the positions. The average position-difference between a top 10% measurement and a top 50% measurement is 0.17 seconds. If measurement error can account for a maximum of about a 0.08 to 0.10 second error in the time then that won't often take you from a top 10% number all the way to an "average" result and certainly not down to below average. In fact it usually takes you only half that far. You'll go from "above average" to "top 10%" or vice versa.