1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Laid Off

Discussion in 'Outreach Forum' started by SICK, Oct 24, 2012.

1. SICK

SICK Lounge Moderator

Nov 29, 2007
    Charlotte NC
    I was just informed today my position is eliminated as of December 31st. I have the opportunity to find something else in the company, if I don't I get a severence and am told to walk, after 5 years with the bank.

Now, I don't know if I even want to transfer elsewhere.....the bank is closing branches throughout the area, laying good, long tenured people off, and making changes at the top that I don't neccesarily agree with.

I never wanted to work in banking. I have a trade school degree from connecticut school of broadcasting, but with a child on the way 5 years ago, I got into wachovia bank as a teller for steady income.....fast forward 5 years, and I am one of the regions leading Personal Bankers. My gift of gab, sales abilities, related skills and all around personality and work ethic moved me up quickly. I know I can take this opportunity to find something else, in another line of work. But I know banking, and know that'll be easier to get back into.

I have done enough networking where I know people at other banks, and a few other types of work. I am deeply sadened I may be without a job, but a part of me sees this as a great opportunity to branch out and find something new.

I have a young son at home, and I love the hours of banking, however, obviously that can be changed if I need to futher my career.

Anyways, I wanted to vent a bit, but I am very nervous about the changes ahead.

Anyone own a company need a go-getter with a fantastic personality, that will make you laugh all day at work? If so, I'll move! Not in love with North Carolina haha

PM for details! :wink:

2. byroan

byroan Giggity Staff Member Administrator Luxury Box

Nov 25, 2007
    NC