1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Raw Files / Photo Editing

Discussion in 'Questions and Answers' started by dolfan22, Jun 24, 2010.

1. dolfan22

dolfan22 Season Ticket Holder Club Member

Hoping I can get some tips or ease of use pointers.

I am a long time photographer and just changed some things , and want to import raw files to my computer to edit and not lose quality from them being converted.

What is the best way to do this ? I use Photoimpact x3 mostly , but tend to load photos directly from my camera to Picasa initially. This converts the file to a jpeg. Should I get a specific card reader ? Loading from my camera ( Sony A series ) takes a long time to load to picasa for jpeg images. So I want something that is quicker but don't want to sacrifice image quality.

Has anyone used Paintshop photo pro x3? If so , would you reccomend it?

Any input greatly appreciated. Basically looking to get raw or raw/jpeg images to my computer/photo program so I can edit them in a bigger size for better end result photos.

Thanks in advance.

2. jdang307

jdang307 Season Ticket Holder Club Member

Nov 29, 2007
    San Diego
    Get lightroom 2/3 and don't look back.

Aperture may be similar but I don't have experience using it.

Lightroom will allow you to import your raws,a nd keep them that way. THey then allow you to make non-destructive edits. They do this by keeping another file of changes you make to the raw file, and then render it. Don't like the line of changes you made? Reset it, and you're back at your raw file. It also has great cataloguing and organization tools. I'm nwe at photography and at post processing, but I've tested some programs and Lightroom is it. Capture One, DXO and photoshop are others I have used.

For really creative stuff, I import into Photoshop.

dolfan22 likes this.
  3. dolfan22

Thanks for the response.